Round 8 Bank of Ireland Under 18 Conference League 4.
Saturday 10th December 2016
Kanturk grounds

Tralee RFC. 17
Kanturk RFC 5

Tralee RFC Under 18's claimed top spot today in an energy sapping win against a feisty Kanturk.

Tralee gained dominance in the forwards from the outset winning a scrum against the head. This set the tone for the Tralee forwards who gave nothing to Kanturk.Kanturk made the most of their possession but the Tralee backs defended with great intensity.
Although Tralee had most of the possession in the first thirty minutes there was no score in this period.Then after a textbook handoff Mikey Lyne delivered a try scoring pass to Joe o Connor who scored under the posts and converted his own try. Five minutes later following a dominant scrum under the Kanturk posts Mikey Lyne again broke off the base of the scrum in a practised move and delivered a pass to Joe o Connor who ran directly under the posts to touch down. After the break and against the run of play Kanturk touched down to make it 14-5. Tralee resisted the expected Kanturk fight back and on 55 minutes and after great pressure Tralee were awarded a penalty which Joe o Connor put between the posts…Tralee now 17 Kanturk 5 .The game finished as it had started with Tralee dominating in all areas .It was a great team performance with the backs attacking and defending as a unit off great ball supplied by the forwards.
It was nice to see Jeaic o Suilleabhan grace the rugby pitch again after a long injury
enforced lay off.
Cian Hill picked up an ankle injury late in the game and will use the next few weeks to recuperate.
The substitutes made real impact when introduced and the coaches will burn the midnight oil discussing team selection prior to the next outing.
It was great to hear a rousing rendition of “The Rose of Tralee” emanating from the Tralee Dressing Room followed by Tralee U-18 anthem ‘Munster’s Blue & White’.

Team and panel

Robbie Murphy, Jordan O’ Shea, Ger Tansley, Stephen Benjamin, Christopher Lowe, David Boyle, Tim Kelliher, Mikey Lyne, Liam O'Malley, Cian Hill, Eoghan O'Buachalla, Joe Quilter, Joseph O'Connor, Hugh Healy, Paul Lenihan, Eoin O'Malley, Lachlan Morrison, Dylan Savage, Lee O'Byrne, Conor Murphy, Jack Dolan, Ml. Leen Vega, Cathal Mc Loughlin, Jeaic o Suilleabhan, Joe Benjamin, Donal Dillane, Harry Benner, Oisin Liston, Eoghan Murphy.


Report by Ivor Healy.